String Quartet No.14 in D minor, 'Death and the Maiden', D 810

Franz Schubert

Performers : Tippett Quartet

Instruments : Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello

Level : Advanced

Pitch : 440Hz

Available movements

About :The String Quartet in D minor, D. 810, known as 'The Maiden and Death', written by Franz Schubert in 1824, is the fourteenth for this chamber ensemble. The name of the quartet comes from the second movement, the andante, which is a series of five variations on the theme from his lied D. 531, Der Tod und das Mädchen as the young girl (das Mädchen) approaches. It is almost contemporary with his Quartet in A minor 'Rosamunde', but was not completed until two years later. It was first published in 1831, three years after the composer's untimely death.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them. Show more