FAE Violin Sonata - III. Scherzo

Johannes Brahms

Performers : Marina Chiche & Aurélien Pontier

Instruments : Violin, Piano

Level : Advanced

Pitch : 442Hz

Available movements

About :The F-A-E Sonata for violin and piano was born of three composers who shared the writing of its four movements. It was composed in 1853 Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms and Schumann's student, Albert Hermann Dietrich. The Scherzo is by Brahms. Schumann initiated the idea for this work, meant for the violinist Joseph Joachim, with whom all three composers were friends. Joachim's motto was "Frei aber einsam" ("Free but alone"), and the three composers therefore took it upon themselves to decline and transform the three notes F, A and E as a nod to this axiom.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them.

Show more