Anitra's Dance, from "Peer Gynt" Suite No.1, Op 46

Edvard Grieg

Performers : Amaury Viduvier & Célimène Daudet

Instruments : Piano, Clarinet

Level : Intermediate

Pitch : 442Hz

Available movements

About :In 1874, Edvard Grieg composed incidental music for the play Peer Gynt, from the Norwegian playwright Henrik Ibsen. It remains the composer's most famous work to this day. He then selected eight pieces and arranged them into two suites for symphonic orchestra which achieved great success as concert music. Anitra's dance, with its typical Scandinavian sound, is part of the fourth act of the play: after his mother (Åse) dies, Peer Gynt goes to Saudi Arabia, where Anitra seduces him and steals all of his belongings.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them.

Show more