Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Level : Advanced

Pitch : 442Hz

Available movements

About :Mozart's Clarinet Quintet in A major K. 581, also known as Stadler Quintet, is one of the major works in the clarinet repertoire. It comes from the composer's fascination for this instrument, which was still rahter new at the time, and which he discovered late. This piece was dedicated to Anton Stadler, clarinettist and instrument maker, who had notably extended the range of the latter towards the low register by creating the "basset clarinet". The study of the score shows that the quintet had originally been written for this instrument. The work was played on December 22, 1789 (probably for the first time) with Stadler playing the clarinet and Mozart the viola.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them. Show more