FAE Violin Sonata - III. Scherzo
  • Home
  • Catalog
  • Search
    Marina Chiche & Aurélien Pontier / FAE Violin Sonata - III. Scherzo
    FAE Violin Sonata - III. Scherzo
    Johannes Brahms
    This piece is not available under your current plan
    440 Hz
    Marina Chiche & Aurélien Pontier
    The F-A-E Sonata for violin and piano was born of three composers who shared the writing of its four movements. It was composed in 1853 Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms and Schumann's student, Albert Hermann Dietrich. The Scherzo is by Brahms. Schumann initiated the idea for this work, meant for the violinist Joseph Joachim, with whom all three composers were friends. Joachim's motto was "Frei aber einsam" ("Free but alone"), and the three composers therefore took it upon themselves to decline and transform the three notes F, A and E as a nod to this axiom.
    Choose an instrument
    • III. Scherzo