Méditation de Thaïs

Jules Massenet

Performers : Marina Chiche & Aurélien Pontier

Level : Intermediate

Pitch : 442Hz

Available movements

About :Méditation is a symphonic intermezzo from the opera 'Thaïs,' composed by French composer Jules Massenet in 1894. The work, originally written for the famous American soprano Sibyl Sanderson, sets a libretto Louis Gallet inspired by the eponymous novel by Anatole France. This piece depicts the encounter between the Cenobite monk Athanaël and Thaïs, a renowned courtesan and pagan priestess, whom he tries to convert to Christianity. The meditation for solo Violin and orchestra is one of the greatest opera works.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them. Show more