The Carnival of the Animals: The Elephant

Camille Saint-Saëns

Performers : Blanche Stromboni & Célimène Daudet

Instruments : Contrabass, Piano

Level : Intermediate

Pitch : 442Hz

Available movements

About :The Carnival of the Animals is a humorous musical suite of fourteen movements by the French Romantic composer Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921), written for Shrove Tuesday 1886. From the beginning, Saint-Saëns regarded the work as a piece of fun and received much criticism for its childish facet, in contrast to his own "serious composer" status. "The Elephant," the fifth movement of the Carnival, transforms the thematic material of "The Dance of the Sylphs" from Berlioz's Damnation of Faust into comedic piece. Saint-Saens reimagines this ethereal dance into a pachyderm lento for double bass and piano.

NomadPlay and its partners use cookies to custom the content displayed on our website and produce analytics. You can either accept the use of cookies or configure them. Show more